Models, Muppets and Madness – My day two experience at #MBFWCT

I must have broken a few rules as my rickety car sped down the highway to get to the CTICC for the second day of the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Cape Town. I arrive and ran like a muppet through the hallway to get my tickets. I headed in to get just a little bit of what’s left of the show. After fumbling and probably inappropriately rubbing myself up against people already seated, I sit down and prepare myself for the Spilt Milk fashion show.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

Typical fun fair music is playing and projected on the runway backdrop are circus like images with black, white and red colours. This isn’t exactly what I needed to calm my beating heart, but nevertheless the show must go on. Spilt Milk was not clowning around with this collection (see what I did there?). The underlying theme was evident in all the ensembles, and it’s the most experimental showcase I’ve seen so for. It was like I’d just walked into a circus full of well-dressed people, and I was weirdly intrigued by it.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

Big fancy headgear, elaborate shoulder details and over the top accessories were worn together with an otherwise simple ready-to-wear collection. The colour palette consisted of red, black and white. The dresses and skirts were cinched in with ribbons of contrasting colours on the waist, creating a feminine silhouette. I liked the contradictions in the show, the simplicity of the collection combined with the outlandish accessories.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

After the show I headed to the media lounge in my dark jeans, monochrome striped tank top and blue blazer, feeling hawt as hot fudge, obvs. I stand in the line at the bar which took forever, but the bartender was aesthetically pleasing so I couldn’t be mad. Then being the smooth playa that I am, I ordered a drink and whipped out my coin purse to pay but then I noticed everyone else is leaving without paying – It was an open bar. My first reflex was to run away muppet style, which is my go-to awkward situation diffuser. Does it work you ask? I wouldn’t know I’m not there when it happens. I couldn’t do it this time though, it was Cape Town Fashion Week for goodness sake, I’m here to have some fun and soak up all the great fashion.

Up next was Michelle Ludek, she told Flair360Fashion she’d be exhibiting colourful garments and a print that was designed especially for her. The lights dimmed and the show began. She was not lying about the colour part – dark and light pinks with rich blues were the main hues featured. The styles were very easy-going and laid-back, which is perfect for summer.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

In fact the whole collection could be a great summer wardrobe for someone. The accessories were quite interesting, which is the only thing I could say about them, the only other thing is that they seemed dangerous. I think the collection was well thought out, as I could picture different kinds of women, even pregnant ones, in the outfits.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

In the same time slot was Leigh Schubert, she told us that her collection would be a bold, tribal inspired range of wearable separates and dresses featuring unusual seams and panels and her signature texture made from laser-cut panels. It was definitely unique; I quite liked the geometric shapes around necks of dresses or as a pattern on shorts. I also liked the colours used, which were black, yellow, mint and grey. What she created were pieces that would have people asking you where you bought it from – which we all quietly love hearing.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

 

Break time again, and the following designer was Dax Martin, master of swimwear and lingerie in South Africa. What I should have done is create a makeshift fan out of some nearby materials, because the next show was hawt, hawt, hawt. The theme was very tribal and jungle-inspired – a great look for the poolside. Something noticeable was the quality of the swimsuits and I was definitely impressed.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

The styles weren’t particularly unique but I guess when it comes to swimwear there isn’t much you could do differently. The main attraction was the prints with some featuring South African flair represented by strylizias. There was a swimsuit for almost everyone, making it a good collection. There wasn’t any lingerie unfortunately but I reckon the models hawt bodies got the audience excited enough.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

After seeing so much skin at the Dax Martin show, I was thinking people should wear bikinis ALL the time, so it was up to Stefania Morland to remind me why I should love clothes again. She did so with the grace of a well-seasoned designer – the elegant yet edgy collection was beautiful. I loved the colours and attention to detail in the pieces. Lace once again made an appearance, as well as monochrome and she featured bright yellows and deep purples to add a pop of fun to the contemporary collection.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

I think Stefania’s show was great because every now and then I felt the need to touch one of the garments, and I reckon that’s one way of impressing the audience. The star of the show was a wedding dress influenced by bulls. The model, sporting horns under a veil, graced the runway and only after closer inspection I noticed the bull outlines at the base of the dress. I thought it was great, not your average wedding gown.

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo
Photo by Simon Deiner/ SDR Photo

 

My second day at Cape Town Fashion Week was great – I loved all the designers’ collections and was surrounded by like-minded people. Something I realised while there is that fashion people judge you, but not in a bad way. Let me explain, we all have our own tastes, and people in the fashion industry understand and appreciate this. So if you see someone wearing something you don’t like, you can think “nope not for me”, but you also realise that it doesn’t matter that’s it’s not for you because it’s for the person wearing it. Make sense? Basically what I’m saying is to each to his own.

Leave a Reply

