#MBFWCT2013 Designer Q&A: Danielle Margaux

Danielle Margaux started her designer career as a pattern drafter at renowned Cape Town fashion house Kluk/CGDT and later became creative design assistant and production manager. She has also worked with Cape Town designers Paul Van Zyl and Gabi Rosenwerth. In 2009 she launched her own label, and now four years down the line, she’s preparing for the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Cape Town.

2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo
2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo

1) How did you get to where you are today, as a designer?

I have always loved fashion and after wanting to become a doctor did not work out, I decided to study fashion design. I was living in London when I decided to change what I planned for my life completely. While studying, I interned at Cosmopolitan magazine and straight after, started working at Truworths head office as a trainee buyer. A friend of mine invited me to the CGDT fashion show and after the show I went to the after party and met Malcolm Kluk and Christiaan du Toit.

We got chatting and needless to say, not long after that I started working at Kluk CGDT. I spent most of my time there, but also worked for Paul van Zyl, Errol Arendz and with Gabi Rosenwerth. I always said that when I turn 30, I must have my own label and business and therefore resigned from my job when I was 28. The Danielle Margaux label was born in December 2009.

2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo
2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo

2) You started as a pattern drafter, how has this affected your designs?

My passion and love lies in drawing up patterns – I still do my own patterns. The pattern determines not only the look of the garment, but it also determines whether a garment is going to be bought or not. The fit is very important.

2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo
2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo

3) Do you have a specific target market or do you stick to a certain style? How would you describe your creations?

My creations are classic, chic and with a modern twist. I design garments that I would like to wear and also what I regard women would want to wear. I do my own patterns and that in itself lies my own handwriting.

2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo
2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo

4) Do you think the fashion scene in Cape Town is unique? And how so?

The industry is very small and the custom fit service is an even smaller scene. It is a small hub and in this hub there is a lot of creative freedom. There is also a very big market movement in Cape Town, which is also quite unique.

2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo
2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo

5) You’re showcasing at the Mercedes-Benz Cape Town Fashion Week, what are you expecting?

Let’s wait and see!

2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo
2012 Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Joburg. Photo by Simon Deiner/SDR Photo

6) What should the audience expect to see from your show?

The collection that I am doing has elements of colour blocking in a different way and I used stripes to create a nautical effect. I had a lot of fun creating my own prints inspired by abstract artists. There is an element of playfulness, but still very feminine. I am playing with boxy shapes, however not shapeless. The collection is very chic, clean, very classic, but splurges of spontaneity comes through.

Follow Danielle on Facebook and Twitter, and see the website for more info.

BUY TICKETS HERE

Leave a Reply

